Another year…

Well, well, well, another birthday…

A few years ago I was wondering about the Birthday Threshold– when getting older stopped making you feel like a cooler, more sophisticated person and started making you feel like you’d just passed another landmark on the long walking escalator toward irrelevance. Well, it’s this year. I’d really rather not be another year older and still the same starving artist freelancer I was three years ago.

Well, three years ago I wasn’t living in Montreal, and  didn’t have my degree, and I hadn’t been on the Aquarius, and I hadn’t tried the Winnipeg Experiment, so I suppose I’m not exactly the *same* starving artist freelancer I was three years ago, but anyway…

 

Six years ago, I celebrated this day in Burundi, with all of my Burundian friends…Émilie, Dieudonné, Pierre, Fabia, Greg, Nadège…who are now scattered to the four winds.

Four years ago, I celebrated with my Québec City flatmates, who I’d just met after a 40-hour voyage from Bujumbura to the Gare du Palais via Kigali, Addis Ababa,  Dubai, Paris and Montreal.

Three years ago, I celebrated my “quart de siècle” with a bunch of charming newly arrived first-year masters students, and a few surprise travellers, at Nelligan’s Bar.

Last year I was also at Nelligan’s Bar, my favourite Québec City hangout, with my musician friends. The craic was riding high as always, but it was kind of bittersweet bcause I knew I’d be leaving a month later. It was achingly beautiful– you know when you are part of something fantastic but you can’t appreciate it fully because the fear that you’ll never be part of something like it again is almost as powerful as the joy?

This year? Dignified dinner and drinks with my Montreal friends– or at least all three of them who are actually in Montreal and not in Paris, Tirana, Ottawa, St. Petersburg or Sept-Iles. But I can’t talk, because who’s to say I wasn’t in Winnipeg or in Sicily for their birthdays? Nomad generation…

 

 

 

 

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

