Let’s clear this up right now…

With regards to my “Mental health and language learning” post…

-I did not write the original post; I just shared it.

-I was never actually published in the Guardian

-I never actually intended to pass myself off as having written in The Guardian.

The column in The Guardian resonated with me, so I clicked over to the original blog (The Compassionate Language Learner, compassionatelanguage.wordpress.com) and used WordPress’ lovely “reblog” feature to share the post. Unfortunately, The Compassionate Language Learner had titled their post “I’m in the Guardian!!” so that was what showed up on all my social media feeds. In my post, in the blurb that you write above the reblog, I made it clear that the post was a share and I had never been published in The Guardian.

I didn’t think much of it until I started getting congratulatory emails and comments of the “Holy crap, you’re in the Guardian!!!” variety. I changed the WordPress title and made the top blurb even more unambiguous. But the myth persists, it seems…even more so because the original reblog title lives on in the URL…

I have not been published in The Guardian. I never deliberately tried to pass myself off as having been published in The Guardian. I’m flattered that so many people think it feasible that I could have been published in The Guardian.

Sorry to burst your bubble!

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s clear this up right now…

  1. Denis LeBlanc says:

    I predict the Guardian will someday pick up on your great writing !

Leave a Reply

