Mental health and language learning in The Guardian

I DID NOT WRITE THE ORIGINAL COLUMN. THIS IS A SHARE. I DID NOT WRITE THE ORIGINAL COLUMN. THIS IS A SHARE.

First of all, apologies to those who might actually believe that I MYSELF have been published in the Guardian. I’m sadly not quite there yet. This interesting blog has been published in the Guardian, and I decided to share it for the greater enjoyment of my language-geek readers.

A really thought-provoking, nice piece about all the ways learning languages can be good for your mental health. A lot of it resonated with me.

The Compassionate Language Learner

… I can’t believe I can even write this sentence, but: my article, “Learning a language helps me talk back to the voice of depression”, is now live on the Guardian’s language-learning site! I’m really honored and excited (and nervous) to have the chance to share my experiences with language-learning and mental illness with their audience.

Please do go check it out, share, and comment there, here, or both (and if you’d like to retweet me announcing it, here you go!).

Many thanks to Holly Young at the Guardian for giving me this opportunity — there have been so many great articles about language-learning posted there recently, I’m thrilled to be in their company!

View original post

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mental health and language learning in The Guardian

  1. michel pratka says:

    So very proud of you on so many levels. For confronting your depression and coming up with a strategy and having the courage to write the story. I have no doubt that this piece will help many people, including myself. Love you more than salt.

  2. Pingback: Let’s clear this up right now… | Ruby Pratka – Year of No Fear

Leave a Reply

