An interruption of the future

I am almost done the section of my trip journal on Croatia– honest! But it has been so sunny over the past few days that I am beyond tired of sitting in front of a screen. I am not dealing with it anymore– I am going home to eat an early dinner on my balcony!!

Yesterday was Sunday and it was 70 degrees, so I went to the park with Rob and our other American colleague James. It was nice to see James as we kept missing each other; he went to parties I didn’t go to and vice versa. He seems really nice.

The first time I have been surrounded by Americans in five years and what do we do? We go to a park and have baseball practice! Well, it was a very battered wiffle ball and a bat that might just have been an upside-down bowling pin , but it was fun. Then I stopped  at the grocery store and bought big lemons to make lemonade. With a glass of lemonade on the sideboard, I went home, threw open the door, put on loud music and cleaned the apartment from top to bottom. It was a day well spent.

The next year of my life is clicking together bit by bit. I didn’t get the London work placement–this time. But it’s just as well. I can apply again. I can go back to Berne this summer and see Simon and Faridah and Mme. Aissatou and Claudine and everyone else. I might be going back to Burundi later in the summer– but shh, the students don’t know anything about that, because the dates haven’t been confirmed!

And in fall, it’s back to Quebec and back to school. Full circle.

I’m cool with that. Can’t remember the last time I was so cool with something, in fact. No panic about the next couple of years. It’s a nice feeling.

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

