Greetings from London!

A brief interruption in my travel tales (I’m almost done the section on Slovenia, honest) to let you know I’ve arrived safely in London– that’s “the real London,” for my Canadian friends, you know, the one where the Queen lives? The mst expensive city in the world? *grumble*

People here are so friendly and straightforward…you ask a question and you get a straight answer, you ask for directions and you get them…not like in Paris where you’d almost rather get hopelessly lost than ask directions for fear of getting your head bitten off, and not sugary like in the States either. I like it so much. Helps to numb the pain of having to pay over 5 EUR to go two stops on the Tube.

What am I doing here, poor as dirt like I am? It’s a long story that includes a job interview at a prestigious news agency, which Eugene, from six time zones away, encouraged me to apply for at the last second. Of me thinking, “God, these essay question answers are shit, but here goes nothing” and hitting send. Of forgetting all about it until I got an email from someone with a British phone prefix asking would I please take a copy editing test. Of forgetting all about THAT  until my last day in Albania, when I got another email from the same woman that just said “Call me please,” and when I called, I was being invited to London for the final interview. So here goes nothing!

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

