Just to let you know

This is just a little post to let you guys know…I am now back in Geneva with Salim and Mohamed and Salim’s brother Malick, enjoying hot showers, pounding electronica,Senegalese food, Swiss chocolate and…not enjoying the guilt I’m feeling over just being able to get on a plane and fly away from all the difficulties my students are facing.

Tomorrow I go to Montpellier for orientation, and Wednesday night I move into my new apartment in Nimes. Thursday I am supposed to go to the school and “introduce myself,” and then off we go, new job!

The battery of my laptop won’t charge, so I have to take my computer to the computer hospital…when it gets out, I promise to sit here for hours regaling you with stories from my road trip into the Burundian countryside (both the time with Antoine and Pierre and the other time), from Kigali, from the incredible farewell party my students gave, from the contortions involved in replacing my stolen stuff, from an amazing book on journalism I just read, and from the weird world of reverse culture shock here in Geneva. That list was as much a memory aid for me as a preview for you.

Until next time…

C’est simplement un petit message pour vous informer que je suis revenue à Genève et je suis avec Mohamed et Salim, et Malick, le frère de Salim. Je profite des douches chaudes, des soirées electronica, des repas sénégalais, et le chocolat suisse…mais je me sens très coupable parce que moi, je peux simplement acheter un billet et monter dans un avion et me laver les mains des problèmes auxquels mes étudiants font face, mais ils ne peuvent pas!

Demain je vais à Montpellier pour la formation et mercredi soir je serais à Nimes. Jeudi matin…voilà, nouveau boulot! Ce serait étrange de commencer l’année scolaire devant la classe, et pas devant l’enseignant!

La batterie de mon ordi est en panne, alors je dois l’amener chez les techniciens. Quand l’ordi est libéré, je promets de vous raconter toutes les histoires de mes deux voyages dans les collines burundaises, de Kigali l’incroyable, des défis pour remplacer mes affaires volées, des au revoirs à faire pleurer…

A la prochaine! Que ce soit tot!

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

