Help, I’m becoming a sheep!

I’ve been at my job for about a week and a half now, and I do like it. It’s fast-paced and all my skills, from writing to translation to sound editing to persuasion, are really being put to use. But there’s just something about it that unnerves me. Up I get at seven, on go the collared shirt and the black trousers and the nice shoes, coffee and oatmeal, out the door, on the tram with all the other suits, clock in at nine, send a few emails and bang out a few briefs, 45-minute lunch break listening to the other women in my  department talk about Weight Watchers points, clock back in, repeat until the stroke of six, run errands, go home, cook dinner, clean the kitchen, get online, write, bed around midnight at the latest. I’m becoming a middle-aged woman. It’s true that I’m hardly ever hungry, because I eat at regular times, and hardly ever sleep-deprived, because I don’t usually work past six or go out. It’s true that when I do get paid, even though it’s a fraction of the average Swiss salary, it will be more money than I’ve ever seen before. But for someone who’s used to living the crazy, irregular 24-hour lifestyle of the university student/newsroom editor, all this routine is just plain scary.

Ca fait environ une semaine et demi que je travaille ici, et je l’aime bien. Mes jours commencent à aller vite, et tous mes compétences– l’écriture, la traduction, la montage sonore, même la persuasion– sont utilisés. Mais il y a une petite quelque chose qui me dérange. Je me lève à sept heures, je mets mes pantalons élégants, ma belle chemise et mes bonnes chaussures. Je fais mon déjeuner, mon café, mon gruau, et je sors, je prends le tram avec des centaines de moutons en cravates, je punche à neuf heures, j’écris quelques courts articles et quelques courriels, je prends un pause de 45 minutes pour le déjeuner en écoutant mes collègues jaser de Weight Watchers, je retourne au travail jusqu’à six heures exactement, puis je sors, je fais des commandes, je rentre chez moi, je fais le diner, je mange et je nettoie la cuisine, je vais en ligne pour lire mes courriels, écrire et clavarder, et vers minuit je ferme l’ordi, je lis un peu et je vais me coucher. J’ai l’impression de veillir! C’est vrai que je n’ai presque jamais faim, parce que je mange aux heures regulières, et je dors assez, parce que je ne travaille pas tard et je ne sors pas souvent. C’est vrai que, quand je serais payée, ce sera plus d’argent que j’ai jamais vu. Mais pour moi, qui s’est habituée à la motion perpetuelle qui est la vie d’une étudiante et une rédactrice d’hebdo, et qui voudrait même y retourner, tout ce routine est effrayant. Point.

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

