Bag(g)age(s)

So, I did it. I managed to get everything into one small brown suitcase. It wasn’t the easiest thing I’ve ever done, and it required some tragic exclusions. The djembe drum had to go. So did the frisbee, the cookbook (sorry Devan) and half of the packages of noodles. They do have stores over there.

I got most of my jabs– the yellow fever, the typhoid and the polio booster. Poor Charlotte (the spider I have tattooed on my left bicep) still kind of hurts. Today I have to get a few more shots…they want me to get “boosters” of all the shots I had when I was a baby, of my flu shot, and of the meningitis shot I had when I went away to university. Just a quick little sting…

Yesterday I had to buy anti-malarial medication too. I had to choose between one that would make me hallucinate, one that would give me yeast infections, and one for which the necessary quantity would cost about as much as a used car. I went with the yeast infections. Yick.

Alors, c’est fait.  Tout ce que je possède est reduit à une seule valise brune. J’ai du enfin jeter le tambour, le frisbee, la moitié des nouilles instantanées, et toute une liste des livres. Les pauvres petits objets! Mais maintenant…c’est fait!

J’ai eu le plupart de mes injections hier (la fievre jaune, le typhoide, pis toutes) et pauvre Charlotte (l’araignée qui est tatouée sur mon bras) en a encore mal. Mais je devrais avoir quelques autres aujourd’hui…c’est recommandée que je renouvèle toutes lis injections que j’ai eu quand j’étais petite et toutes celles que j’ai eu avant de partir pour l’université il y avait 5 ans. Pauvre Charlotte…

Il m’a fallu aussi acheter des medicaments contre le malaria. Il y en avait une qui me ferait halluciner, une qui coutait aussi cher qu’une voiture usagée, et une qui me donnerait des infections dans…un…endroit…assez…privée….j’ai acheté cette dernière, donc je dois acheter une autre medicament contre les infections. On fait ce qu’on peut…

About msmarguerite

Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bag(g)age(s)

  1. Joel Du Broy says:

    You should have gone for the hallucinating one…it’s the one I took (because it’s not an antibiotic). Eventually I just stopped taking it, there isn’t any real proof that anti-malaria pills help, plus I don’t like taking medication long-term if it can be avoided.

    Another thing to put in your suitcase (before you go to Africa) is SDRAM. I’m talking about old RAM for machines that were made 10-15 years ago. Buy them on eBay and resell them in Africa for 20 times what you paid!

Leave a Reply

