And so it begins/ Alors, ça commence

So this is the beginning.

This weekend, when I should have been studying for exams, I did setup for the Centre for Media and Transitional Societies (CMTS) fifth anniversary celebrations. I wasn’t strictly obligated to do it, but we do have an obligation to do some kind of public service, and I thought, why not? The after-party was at Prof. Allan Thompson’s place, and I met so many Rwanda Initiative participants (Alice, Gilbert and Eugène — who I already knew — on the Rwandan side and Margaret, Lucy and Beatrice on the Canadian side) who were incredibly open about sharing their experiences about how the Rwanda project touched their lives. I hope the Burundi project I am getting involved in can be as successful.

Eavesdropping on Eugène and Gilbert’s conversation was also the first exposure I’d ever had to the Kinyarwanda language, which is just so musical. I hope I can learn its sister tongue, Kirundi, spoken in Burundi, where I’m going. I wouldn’t be the first CMTS Canada participant to pick up a few phrases, so that’s encouraging.

Today I went to get my Burundian visa. Their embassy is in a weird place for an embassy– not in an opulent house in Rockcliffe but on the eighth floor of an office building in the Byward Market; the closest bus stop is the one by Smoke’s Poutinerie. I’ve been in my share of  embassies– US embassies, Canadian embassies, Russian embassies, Belarussian embassies– and this one takes the cake for efficiency. A willowy, attractive woman in her early 30s (I guess) with long braids took my form, my cheque, my passport and my god-awful bug-eyed photo and told me to come back tomorrow. She spoke such beautiful French.

I am crossing my fingers that it will be ready when she says it is (10:30 tomorrow) because then I have to get my Swiss visa, which requires four times as much paperwork and my poor passport being Fedexed to Montreal. We’ll see.

The quality of these entries will improve over the next few days, but I have to get some exam studying done today– not to mention some translation!

Alors, ça commence.

La fin de la semaine passée, quand j’aurais du être en train de preparer pour mes examens, j’ai decidé d’aider Allan Thompson, le coordonateur du CMTS, et mes collègues à preparer pour la réunion des anciens du Rwanda Initiative.  Je n’étais pas obligée de le faire, mais nous sommes encouragés de travailler avec le public comme representants du CMTS, et j’ai pensé, pourquoi pas? Il y avait l’ambassadrice du Rwanda, le sénateur Roméo Dallaire, et mon ami Eugène, un rwandais qui est ancien du programme, avec une costume et un cravate! Nous avons eu une célébration après chez Allan, ou j’ai pu rencontrer Gilbert et Alice, autres rwandais anciens du programme, et Lucy, Margaret et Beatrice, des canadiennes qui sont allées au Rwanda dans le cadre du programme. Ils étaient extrémement ouverts et charismatiques et ils ont parlé de la manière dont l’Initiative a changé leurs vies. J’espère que le programme burundais, dont je serai le deuxième participant canadien, connaitra autant du succès.

C’était aussi la première fois que j’ai entendu le kinyarwanda, la langue du Rwanda, quand j’ai ecouté Eugène et Gilbert. Ne vous inquietez pas les gars, j’ai pas compris un seul mot! Mais la langue lui-même avait un débit comme de la musique, ça m’a donné le gout d’apprendre. En ce moment je ne connais que “Amahoro!” qui veut dire, “Salut!” Eugène m’avait dit les mots pour “merci,” “santé!” et “bière,” mais j’ai besoin de pratique. Les locuteurs de kinyarwanda et kirundi, langue parlée en Burundi, peuvent se comprendre, si je me souviens correctement de ce qu’Eugène m’avait dit. Je ne serai pas la première nord-americaine d’apprendre le base de cette langue– une ancienne coordonateur qui j’ai rencontré au célébration a pu se debrouiller très bien en kinyarwanda. Impressionant!

Aujourd’hui je suis allée soumettre mes documents pour mon visa burundais. Leur ambassade n’est pas dans une maison opulente de Rockcliffe mais dans un petit bureau. Une très belle jeune femme est sortie du petit bureau ramasser mes documents– passeport, formulaire, cheque et photo affreux aux yeux protuberants et cheveux de castor mort–  et elle m’a dit de revenir demain à 10h30. Pas dans trois semaines, demain. C’est comme ça qu’il faut le faire!! C’est pas ma première ambassade, vous savez, et j’ai eu des interactions terribles avec des representants qui s’en fichaient de tout. Cette burundaise n’en était pas une. Aussi il faut dire qu’elle parlait un français très beau et clair.

J’espère que tout sera prêt demain, parce qu’il va falloir aller prendre mon visa suisse, processus prolongé où ils vont envoyer mon passeport, mon precieux passeport, à Montréal, et si c’est pas prêt en deux semaines je ne sais pas ce que je vais faire. Drame numero un.

Le qualité de ces écrits améliorera après les examens, je vous jure. À plus tard alors!

    About msmarguerite

    Young Quebec City-based freelance journalist. once and future nomad. I blog about life, about travel, about things I notice and every so often about work. I enjoy language learning, singing, swing dancing, skating and...other stuff, sometimes. My heart is somewhere in East Africa, Haiti or Eastern Europe. English, français, русский, malo slovensko, un poco de espanol, um pouco de português ndiga ikirundi, mwen ap aprann kreyòl...
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    2 Responses to And so it begins/ Alors, ça commence

    1. Mr WordPress says:

      Hi, this is a comment.
      To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    2. titaniumtux says:

      MDR Burundian women are incredibly hawt!!! African visas are so easy to get, though their embassies are often in obscure places (even in Africa!!) and it’s just a little cash grab for them (no “screening” involved). I’ll add the blog to my rss feeds 😛

    Leave a Reply

    